Why do I blog the past?

21 02 2011

Someone asked me why it is that I blog about the past; particularly now that I have moved on, have remarried and started to make a new life. This is a good question and its a real valid question to ask.

My answer is that I do it because its my story. It’s part of who I am. For many years no one would listen to my story. There was much pain, that was deep inside and simmering away. When I did some telephone counselling training; one of the important things we were told was to allow people to name what it was they were going through.

Were they feeling frustrated, angry, annoyed, sad, happy etc and what was it that was making them feel that way.

Through the media of blogging, I am able to tell my story. I am able to voice what has happened to me, what I went through, how it made me feel and even how it makes me feel today. Yes its true that I could privately journal these things. Yet truthfully; if I did that; the result of privately journaling would be the same as keeping every thing inside and not being able to tell my story.

Blogging therefore is the media in which I am able to tell my story. I am able to write about my memories as they surface. I am able to reflect on my journey of life. And in telling it here; I am able to move on; pray and process it, forgive and be healed.

The sheer nature of abuse to to silence the voice of the one being abused. A result being that its extremely hard for those who have suffered abuse to actually speak out. In telling my story; I not only tell my own story. I actually speak up and out for those who likewise have been silent and are unable to tell their own story and in doing so; help others to speak up and out also and hopefully contribute towards great social justice for those who need it.

Secondly this blog doesn’t define who I am. It helps me to work through who I am and releases me to be who I am. I am able to tell my story and leave it here. My blog is like a deposit box. When the debt of the past comes up; I am able to tell it; get it out and leave it here. This might sound weird, and might sound strange…. but for me it is totally reasonable and it works for me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 08 2012
ssofdv

I can certainly relate. Keep speaking out, it is your right, and possibly your spiritual assignment.

Terry

28 11 2013
Craig Benno

Hi Terry. As hard as it is. I believe I have a social responsibility to keep speaking out to help others who are going through the same situation. And to help others know they are not on their own.
Cheers mate. cb

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

